Wednesday, September 3, 2008

Some of "el grupo" at Zilich (a very chill, low key, very good bar here in Guanajuato) ... I can't believe I'm in this picture, it proves that I do go out and enjoy the nightlife here, once in a while. 

So I had my first embarrassing moment in class. I was chosen (did not volunteer) to read out-loud. Well ... everything was going fine until I couldn't say 1863 in Spanish. I was never taught how to say BIG numbers in Spanish. For those who are interested, you say: mil ocho ciento y sesenta y tres for 1863! WOW that's all I have to say. I was very embarrassed when I stopped reading and looked up and confessed that I didn't know how to say numbers. My professor thought I was joking and started to giggle but than she saw my seriousness. In retrospect, it was a hilarious moment.

As of now I am feeling a little sick. I don't know what it is from, not the water ... I only use it to rinse out my toothbrush and I don't use a lot of it. Even the locals and natives of Mexico DO NOT drink the water that's how bad it is. I buy water bottles like its my job. And I don't eat on the streets and try not to go out to restaurants a lot. If I do, I always get a second opinion. My host family recommends a lot of things and places to go and eat. That's always comforting. I am starting to feel comfortable riding in taxis alone (watch me get a sucky taxi driver next time) even at night. I rather be in a taxi with someone who knows MX than walking alone in the dark. However, not comforting to know: but being a taxi driver is dangerous because they get robbed just as easily as a pedestrian. Oh good Lord! AHH! When I hear these stories I want to buy the next ticket home. But then again when I have a good day, or take in a beautiful view, or actually understand a full conversation in Spanish. I am really excited to be here. WHOO HOO! 

Alrighty I got to go...it's almuerzo (lunch) time

No comments: