Monday, September 29, 2008

Oh Septiembre ... where have you gone?!

September is almost over! How crazy is that? ... meaning I have 2 more months abroad (but who's counting? hehe). I love it here, but I can't lie -- do miss everyone back home. I'm trying to live each day to the fullest. I know the next 2 months will fly!

There's nothing too new to report. The world renowned performing arts festival, called Cervantino begins Oct. 8th -- the gto will be transformed into total loca-ness ... the population in Guanajuato doubles on the weekends during the festival ... 50,000 more people flock to this city for weekend performances. I will be under house arrest. Nah -- I'll go out and explore but with a big group (the crime rate sores during the month of October).

A lot of parents are visiting their kids this month ... its going to be weird not having one of my parents visit me. But maybe that's a blessing because I think if my parents came, I would want to return to the great US of A with them. Sarah's parents are visiting later this month, so I'll get to hang with them...they're a fun bunch.

Well I should start heading home for COMIDA! Nos vemos todos!

Friday, September 26, 2008

My Favorite Pictures...





Here are some of my favorite pictures I've taken so far...Enjoy!

I took this picture in Valenciana -- it's the top of a beautiful church...

This church (gothic-looking) is in San Miguel Allende

The Teatro Juarez its in the center of town ... I walk past it everyday...


The view from my bedroom window! Look at the sky...

Monday, September 22, 2008

Tula y Queretaro!



My weekend was so flipping crazy. My weekends usually start on Thursday night, all the clubs and bars are open til real late. Sarah dragged me to a restaurant we ordered a pitcher of sangria and traditional nachos with chile ... it was good, then we went to Zilch (my favorite chill low key bar) and I ordered a beer, it was gross...so Sarah helped me lol.

So TULA and QUERETARO was fun! ... TULA is about 4.5 hours from GTO its known for Tolteca ruins including pyramids...it was super cool! Then we went to Queretaro -- and lets just say beautiful! A lot of French influence.

Tuesday, September 9, 2008

San Miguel Allende, MX


We had another excursion over the weekend. I love excursions here, they're organized, you ride on a charted bus, and it's a full day of entertainment! San Miguel Allende is an hour in a half from GTO. It's beautiful (I wish I could take credit for this picture, but I found it online, however I was right there!). There's a lot of gringos in San Miguel, so all the restaurants have menus in English.

I splurged ... I bought a beautiful shoulder bag, it has embroidered flowers on the front. Plus, I bought 2 pairs of shoes ... unfortunately, one of my pairs is a little tight. They felt fine when I tried them on. Oh well.

Can I just reiterate how much I LOVE my host family, they're so great and hilarious. GTO would suck without a good family. I feel like I'm home when I'm there. It's nice. However, I do miss my family and friends a lot. But I only have 2.5 more months and than I am going home. Time will fly! As of now, I'm love bein' in the G-T-O!


Wednesday, September 3, 2008

Some of "el grupo" at Zilich (a very chill, low key, very good bar here in Guanajuato) ... I can't believe I'm in this picture, it proves that I do go out and enjoy the nightlife here, once in a while. 

So I had my first embarrassing moment in class. I was chosen (did not volunteer) to read out-loud. Well ... everything was going fine until I couldn't say 1863 in Spanish. I was never taught how to say BIG numbers in Spanish. For those who are interested, you say: mil ocho ciento y sesenta y tres for 1863! WOW that's all I have to say. I was very embarrassed when I stopped reading and looked up and confessed that I didn't know how to say numbers. My professor thought I was joking and started to giggle but than she saw my seriousness. In retrospect, it was a hilarious moment.

As of now I am feeling a little sick. I don't know what it is from, not the water ... I only use it to rinse out my toothbrush and I don't use a lot of it. Even the locals and natives of Mexico DO NOT drink the water that's how bad it is. I buy water bottles like its my job. And I don't eat on the streets and try not to go out to restaurants a lot. If I do, I always get a second opinion. My host family recommends a lot of things and places to go and eat. That's always comforting. I am starting to feel comfortable riding in taxis alone (watch me get a sucky taxi driver next time) even at night. I rather be in a taxi with someone who knows MX than walking alone in the dark. However, not comforting to know: but being a taxi driver is dangerous because they get robbed just as easily as a pedestrian. Oh good Lord! AHH! When I hear these stories I want to buy the next ticket home. But then again when I have a good day, or take in a beautiful view, or actually understand a full conversation in Spanish. I am really excited to be here. WHOO HOO! 

Alrighty I got to go...it's almuerzo (lunch) time