First ... yep, I moved! I'm now living closer to school however I live on an inclined hill which is a mile long. Definitely, getting a great workout. My new host family is so awesome, very friendly and they love to talk -- which is awesome, however my Spanish really is rusty and sometimes I feel bad for them because I'm fluent whatsoever. But they're very patient and understanding plus they're funny too. They have 2 daughters, one is a zumba instructor and I don't know the other daughter's profession. Both are super sweet and speak a fair amount of English. I have my own room and my view is breathtaking. You should see the city of Guanajuato at night, absolutely beautiful!
As for my classes, ehh they're going alright. Like I said before, 8 am classes are NOT my cup of tea! And it's so hard to pay attention and analyze stories so early in the morning, especially since everything is in Spanish. The last few days have been horrible, weather-wise and so I've been walking to school when it's raining and trust me, sitting for 2 hours in a dark room is NOT the most fun. At least my professors are nice.
Ok going back to my new host family. On Sunday they threw a BBQ party -- the entire familia showed up ... I met uncles, aunts, cousins, grandparents, friends, boyfriends, neighbors ... I was SO scared! Totally lost my appetite. It's like my Spanish went out the window. I couldn't breathe at one point. It was so overwhelming. I guess Sundays are family days here... we sat and I listened for 3 hours, didn't talk much. However, my host family did ask if I was ok, because I wasn't eating my meal. And it's very offensive if you don't finish what's on your plate. Well, I didn't finish my lunch and I think I offended the matriarch of the family aka abuela (grandma). Great first impression Meg!
I also learned how to use the washing machine in our house. It's very ghetto, a great story too! Most houses have at least 1 washing machine, my family has 2. However, no one in Mexico has dryers. It's unheard of here! Everything is hung up on hangers outside. That's not the "ghetto" or old school part. The washing machine doesn't fill up. I have to go outside bring a hose in and fill the washer up. Hahahahaha! It's so great. I tried not to laugh as my senora was showing me! It was cute.
This weekend I went to the mummy museum and a torture museum. Let's just say ... I was not pleased. Very disturbing and disgusting. I felt so bad staring at dead bodies that were so badly decomposed even though they were mummified. There was one exhibit that had 3 mummies that died horrible deaths. That was really sad!
Al-righty, I know this blog entry is short and random! But I gotta fly. Ciao!
No comments:
Post a Comment